Here’s What’s New at Prevent Child Abuse New York!

This page
updated May 26, 2000

Conference 2000
On The Front Lines: For the Children

The conference’s success was possible thanks to the dedication
and work of many volunteers. We deeply thank the conference committee:
Cindy Lee, chair, Maryann Bryant, Joan Fuess, Bill Hayes, Judy
Richards and Paulette Walley, as well as volunteers Sandra Brunk,
Patricia Dieck, Gina Driscoll, Lynn Gasorowski, Genette Hollander,
Addie Johnson, Kelly Lee, Laura Shearer, Bruce and Harriett Shore,
and Jocelyn Sikorski.

We Thank You!

The First Annual
Nancy V. Langer Memorial On April 4, 2000 Christine Deyss, Executive
Director of Prevent Child Abuse New York was the first recipient
of the Nancy V. Langer Memorial Award.Award.

Cameron and his wife, Lee, volunteer Products Manager for Prevent
Child Abuse New York, at the April 2 dinner in his honor.

Ben Tanzer from Prevent Child
Abuse America and Maryann Bryant, founding board president of
Prevent Child Abuse New York, who chaired the dinner honoring
Jim Cameron, at the celebration.

The Rusty Pipes, an a cappella
ensemble from Rensselaer Polytechnic Instiatute (RPI) performed
contemporary music, complete with vocal percussion and a sense
of humor, at Sunday’s reception.

Walley, PCANY Conference Committee, Dave Pelzer, Keynote Speaker
& Patricia Dieck, Conference Volunteer.

Conference participants were especially enthusiastic about:

Plenary speakers Sidney Hurlburt, Dave Pelzer and James Garbarino

Workshops that provided concrete skills, as well as relaxation
and self-esteem sessions

Opportunities to network with others in their fields

The conference bookstore and array of exhibits.

Conference staff response to participants’ needs.

Participants also provided valuable input for planning next year’s
conference. They would like greater diversity of keynote speakers;
more time for informal networking; a separate research and evaluation
workshop track; more sessions to renew their energy and spirit;
and faster food service.

Our thanks to everyone for their feedback!

Accepting the Excellence in
Child Abuse Prevention 2000 community award are Delmar Presbyterian
Church pastor Larry Deyss, Lynn Gasorowski, who has donated innumerable
hours of work to Prevent Child Abuse New York, and outreach chairperson
Linda Crawford. The church contributes meeting space, funding
and volunteers to a more than twenty local organizations that
serve children and families, helping to create a healthy community
that supports families.

Speakers at the conference dinner included John Johnson,
Commissioner of NYS Office of Children & Family Services,
and Assemblyman Sam Hoyt.  

Cindy Lee presents the Excellence in Child Abuse Prevention
2000 program award to Tom Hanna, Child Abuse Prevention Network
program manager. The Network’s internet site (
has enabled those of us who work in the field to easily exchange
ideas, seek answers, educate the public and make others aware
of the work that we are doing.
 About Us  Conference Photo Album  About Child Abuse   About Prevention
  Support Prevention  For Parents   Our Products  Advocacy  
  Copyright Information  Healthy Families New York   Contact Us Links  Home